Understanding the Different Types of Breast Implant Incisions

During breast augmentation surgery, breast implants are inserted under the natural breast tissue or behind the chest muscles through carefully placed incisions. Several choices exist regarding the location of these incisions.

The incision placement decision is determined in consultation with your surgeon and is based on your anatomy, your desired outcome and the size and shape of the breast implants.

Four main types of incision patterns are used during breast augmentation:

  • Inframammary Incision (crease or fold incision)
  • Periareolar Incision (nipple incision)
  • Transaxillary Incision (armpit incision)
  • TUBA Incision (belly button or transumbilical incision)

Inframammary Incision

The inframammary incision is placed near the crease under the breasts, slightly above where the breast and rib cage meet. Learn more about inframammary incisions.

Periareolar Incision

The periareolar incision (nipple incision) is placed between your areola (the pink or brownish skin that surrounds your nipple) and your breast skin. Learn more about periareolar incisions.

Click on image to view larger
Image courtesy of Clinic Compare

Transaxillary Incision

The transaxillary incision (armpit incision) is placed in the armpit. Learn more about transaxillary incisions.

TUBA Incision

The TUBA incision (belly button, navel, or transumbilical incision) is made within the navel. Learn more about "scarless" TUBA incisions.

The only way to determine which incision pattern is right for you is to consult with a board-certified plastic surgeon. He or she will explain the advantages and disadvantages of the various incision lines and help decide which is most suited to your anatomy and aesthetic goals. Begin your search for the right surgeon now.